Business Hilights
Tracking Nigeria's Headline Business News Online

Just in: Tinubu beats Amaechi, Osinbajo to emerge APC Flag Bearer

Former Governor of Lagos State and National Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, has emerged as the winner of the party’s presidential primary.
Announcing the results, Chairman of the APC Primary Election Committee, Governor Atiku Bagudu said “This is to certify that Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, having scored the highest number of votes cast, is hereby declared the winner,” said Governor Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi State who returned Tinubu as the elected candidate.
Continuing, he said “In line with the provisions of the constitution of our great party and by the power conferred on me as the Returning Officer of this special convention, I, Atiku Bagudu, do hereby declare Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu as the presidential candidate of our party in the 2023 presidential election.”
Tinubu obtained over 1,000 votes to defeat his closest rivals, Rotimi Amaechi and Yemi Osinbajo.
While Amaechi polled 316 votes, Osinbajo scored 235 votes.
Other results are; Dave Umahi — 38;
Yahaya Bello — 47;
Ogbonnaya Onu — 1;
Ahmed Sani — 4;
Rotimi Amaechi — 316;
Tunde Bakare — 0;
Yemi Osinbajo — 235;
Ahmad Lawan — 152;
Ben Ayade — 37
Ikeobasi Mokelu -0

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More