Business Hilights
Tracking Nigeria's Headline Business News Online

APC guber: Confusion in Imo as Uzodinma, Madumere led IAF maintain boycott

Contrary to claims by the reconstituted electoral committee headed by Ibrahim Agbabiaka in the rerun Imo State All Progressive Congress (APC) guber and senatorial primaries that winners have emerged, a group, Imo Allied Forces (IAF) led by Senator Hope Uzodinma and Deputy Gov. Eze Madumere has maintained their stand on boycotting the election on grounds of pending matter in court.

The Agbabiaka led Committee had announced results which showed that In-law to incumbent Gov Rochas Okorocha, Mr. Uche Nwosu (from Orlu Zone) won by269,524 votes to emerge winner while Okorocha won Senate ticket for Orlu Zone.

However, the IAF on Monday maintained their stand that were not part of the process on the ground that they had gone to court to stop the primaries ab-initio.

But Agbabiaka, while declaring the results said that all the nine governorship aspirants participated in the exercise.

Hope Uzodimma
Chairman, Senate Committee on Customs Excise and Tariff, Chief Hope Uzodinma

He gave their names as Chuks Ololo, George Eche, Uche Nwosu, Deputy Governor of Imo State, Eze Madumere and Senator Hope Uzodimma. Others are Air Commodore Peter Gbujie (rtd), Chima Anozie, Jude Ejiogu and Chris Nlemoha. According to results announced by the chairman of the electoral committee, Nwosu polled 269,524 votes to emerge winner of the heated contest, while Ololo and Gbujie followed with 6,428 and 4,855 respectively. Other contestants polled as follows: Eche 2,454; Madumere, 2,646; Uzodimma 2,729; Anozie 3,248; Ejiogu 3,456; and Nlemoha 925. For the Imo West senatorial district, Okorocha garnered 141,127 votes to defeat Senator Hope Uzodimma, who polled 1,359 votes and Senator Osita Izunaso, 24 votes. In Imo North, Nnamdi Obiaraeri polled 67,438 to win the senator currently representing the zone, Benjamin Uwajumogu, who polled 5,743 votes. Also, in Imo East senatorial district, Emma Ojinere floored the other two contestants with 41,562 votes. He defeated Chima Anthony and Maxwell Igwe.

Besides, the National Working Committee (NWC) of the APC is yet to make any comment on the repeated Imo APC primaries as at Monday even as the INEC deadline for primaries has elapsed.