Business Hilights
Tracking Nigeria's Headline Business News Online

Just in: Sanwo-Olu bans Okada, tricycle in 15 key LGAs

After months of speculation and denials, the Lagos State Government Monday afternoon, announced total ban on the operations of commercial motorcycles (Okada) and tricycles (Keke Napep), in 15 Local Government Areas of the State.

The ban will be effective from Saturday, February 1, 2020.

The announcement indicated that specialised Okada services including Opay and Gokada operators are also affected.

The affected 15 Local Governments and Local Council Development Centres (LCDAs) where the ban will takeoff first include Apapa, Apapa Iganmu, Lagos Mainland, Yaba, Surulere, Itire Ikate, Coker Aguda, Eti-Osa, Lagos Island, Ikeja, Onigbongo, Ojodu, Ikoyi-Obalende, Iru Ikoyi-Obalande and Lagos Island East.


Tricycle most used in Nigeria urban and rural areas

Details of a statement issued by the Chief press Secretary, Mr Gboyega Akosile said “The State Government directed security operatives to embark on a total enforcement of the State’s Transport Sector Reform Law of 2018 to immediately address the chaos and disorderliness created by illegal operations of Okada and tricycle riders in restricted areas.

Also the statement made it clear that “Besides, the Government also banned Okada and tricycles from plying 40 bridges and flyovers across the State.

Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Mr. Gbenga Omotoso, who made the announcement at the State House in Alausa, said the measures were taken by the Government in response to “scary figures” of fatal accidents recorded from operations of Okada and tricycles in the State between 2016 and 2019.

Omotoso said the lack of regard for the Lagos Traffic Laws by the Okada and tricycle riders had resulted in preventable loss of lives, adding that their impermissible movements on restricted highways had also contributed to traffic jams.

He said: “After a robust assessment of the debate on what has been widely referred to as the motorcycle (Okada) and tricycle (Keke) menace, the Lagos State Government and the State Security Council have decided that the security and safety of lives of Lagosians are paramount.

“The figures are scary. From 2016 to 2019, there were over 10,000 accidents recorded at the General Hospitals alone. This number excludes unreported cases and those recorded by other hospitals. The total number of deaths from reported cases is over 600 as at date.

“Also, the rate of crimes aided by Okada and Keke keeps rising. They are also used as getaway means by criminals. Therefore, after consultations with stakeholders, the State Security Council, in compliance with the extant Transport Sector Reform Law 2018, has decided to commence enforcement of the law which bans the operation of Okada and Keke in six Local Government Areas and nine Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs).”

Omotoso said the enforcement would be total, warning that the Government would deal with violators in accordance with the Laws. He added that there would be zero tolerance for the movement of the banned vehicles on the listed highways and bridges.

According to the Commissioner, operations of Okada and Keke NAPEP have been banned in the following LGAs and LCDAs: Apapa LGA, Apapa Iganmu LCDA, Lagos Mainland LGA, Yaba LCDA, Surulere LGA, Itire-Ikate LCDA, and Coker-Aguda LCDA.

Others are Ikeja LGA, Onigbongbo, LCDA, Ojodu LCDA, Eti-Osa LGA, Ikoyi-Obalende LCDA, and Iru-Victoria Island LCDA, Lagos Island LGA and Lagos Island East LCDA.

The Okada and Keke NAPEP are restricted on the following highways and bridges:

Major Highways

  1. Lagos-Ibadan Expressway
  1. Apapa-Oshodi Expressway
  1. Oworonshoki-Oshodi Expressway
  1. Lagos-Ikorodu Expressway
  1. Lagos-Abeokuta Expressway
  1. Eti-Osa/Lekki-Epe Expressway
  1. Lagos-Badagry Expressway
  1. Funsho Williams Avenue
  1. Agege Motor Road
  1. Eti-Osa Lekki Coastal Road


  1. Iyana- Ipaja Bridge Agege
  1. Dopemu Bridge Agege
  1. Airport/Ikeja Bridge
  1. Agege Motor road/oshodi Loop, Oshodi
  1. Mushin/Isolo Link Bridge
  1. Dorman Long Bridge
  1. Ojuelegba Bridge
  1. National Stadium Flyover
  1. Apapa-Iganmu Bridge
  1. Apapa-Ijora Link Bridge
  1. Liverpool Bridge, Apapa
  1. Mile 2 Bridge-Loop, Amuwo-Odofin
  1. Okota (cele)/Ijesha Link Bridge
  1. Apakun/Apapa-Oshodi Bridge Network
  1. Ikorodu Road/Anthony Clover leaf Bridge
  1. Trade Fair Flyover Bridge
  1. Festac/Amuwo-Odofin Link Bridge
  1. 2 Flyover Bridges along Alhaji Masha Road
  1. Ojota Clover leaf Bridge
  1. Ogudu Bridge
  1. 3rd Mainland Bridge
  1. Maryland flyover
  1. Ikeja General Hospital Flyover Bridge
  1. Kodesoh Bridge, Oba Akran, Ikeja
  1. Opebi Link Bridge
  1. Sheraton-Opebi Bridge
  1. Jibowu/Yaba flyover Bridge
  1. Carter Bridge, Lagos
  1. Bariga-Ifako Bridge
  1. Apapa-Oshodi Expressway/Alapere Bridge
  1. Bariga/Oworonsoki Bridge
  1. Apapa-Oshodi Expressway/Gbagada U-Turn
  1. Apapa-Oshodi Expressway
  1. 3rd Mainland/Oworonsoki Bridge
  1. Eko Bridge
  1. Apongbon flyover Bridge
  1. Cowry Bridge (Officers Mess)
  1. Mcwen Bridge (Bonny Camp)
  1. Marina/Ikoyi Bridge
  1. Ikoyi/Obalende Bridge