Business Hilights
Tracking Nigeria's Headline Business News Online

Weak governance structures in MDAs fueling recurrence of under-remittance—NEC

More details weekend emerged from the former Accountant general of the federation and Governor of Gombe State, Ibrahim Dankwambo, revealing that the cause of the observed regular under-remittances by Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) is poor governance structures embedded in their managerial teams.

He argued that the only solution to ending the economic crime by concerned MDAs remains the strengthening of the governance structure of all the MDAs so as to prevent further recurrence of such gross under-remittance by the NNPC and other revenue generating agencies.

Speaking on the backdrop of the report of the technical audit of the agencies to the National Economic Council (NEC) by KPMG which revealed that about N526 billion and $21 billion was under-paid to the federation account by some Federal Government revenue generating agencies between 2010 and 2015, “The most important decision that was taken is that a sub-committee will be set up which will be an arm of the legal committee of NEC that will look into details of these kinds of infringements and make sure that those issues that are criminal and require prosecution will be handled by office of the Attorney General of the Federation”.

Continuing, Gombe State Governor revealed that “One of the resolutions of NEC today is to extend the audit to June 2017. So, the audit will continue for the remaining agencies.

“It is NNPC, NPDC, DPR, Customs, Federal Internal Revenue Services, NPA, NIMASA, all the revenue generating agencies and the details of the infringement are contained in the report.

Business Hilights recalls that last week, NEC opened up after a meeting chaired by Dankwambo that the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) and 15 others were exposed following the presentation of the report of the technical audit of the agencies to the NEC by KPMG.

Other members of the NEC’s Ad hoc Committee include governors of Edo, Kaduna, Akwa Ibom, Lagos and the Finance Minister.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More